Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

¡Hola!   ¿Como estas?

2013 is coming to a close at a very quickly, like tomorrow. Yes? We all agree then, it has gone by very quickly.

I hope everyone feels good and prepared for leaving this year and starting off the next. 2014. Weird.

I remember celebrating New Year’s Eves when I was younger and my sister, best friend, and I would run around the last hour trying to squeeze everything in for the last time that year. “I AM GOING TO THE BATHROOM FOR THE LAST TIME IN 1999! I AM DOING A CANNONBALL FOR THE LAST TIME IN 2000! I AM PLAYING PRETTY PRETTY PRINCESS FOR THE LAST TIME IN 2001!” Yes, these are real examples. Did anyone else do this? I am going to do this again this year, head’s up Chris.

There was always so much excitement for the ball to drop and for everyone to yell and scare dogs by setting off illegal fireworks (still do not understand that) and kiss and wish each other a HAPPY NEW YEAR!

And it IS exciting! It is exciting that we make it second to second, let alone year to year. I can hardly handle the surge of the New Year because I am busy looking around at how everyone else it reacting. It is one of the most heartwarming moments to witness. It is difficult to find a sad face and that is how it should always be. The holiday season brings out the best in people and NYE is just icing on the Christmas cake. It is one of the best ways to count our blessings and re-focus on what is important in life. I sometimes scoff at people who make New Year’s Resolutions, but in the right context, they can be rather great. Me thinks I shall ponder mine. Better late than never. Pretty much my motto these days.

New Year’s Eve is also the greatest because it will for always make me think of my favorite scene from my favorite movie.

 I am always so proud that Meg Ryan went stag on NYE, but I wish she would have been wearing a different outfit. She looks so slammin’ in menswear during the entire movie and then decides to go all 80s promdressgonebad on us. Oh well. At least Billy Crystal gave the people what they wanted, as per usual.

She should have worn one of the ensembles pictured below.

What will you be wearing to kick off 2014?

2014

left: top / necklace / skirt / loafers

right:  top / jeans / booties

Spice up your life, happy 2014!

P.S. Happy Birthday to the best panda in all the land.

1234473_10151554462762093_913285534_n